Supporting research across the full spectrum of medical sciences in Scotland


Tenovus Scotland also grant the following special awards.

The Lady Margaret MacLellan Award

The Lady Margaret MacLellan Award (£3,000 plus monento) is made in respect of the best piece of research carried out in Scotland, in a nominated subject and is made every two years.

The 2010 subject was cancer and the winner was Professor Bob Steel, Department of Surgery and Molecular Oncology, Dundee. Professor Steel led the team that introduced Bowel cancer screening which is being now introduced throughout the country.

The 2012 subject was medical imaging and the winner was Professor Peter Sharp, Emeritus Professor of Medical Physics at the University of Aberdeen. Professor Sharp’s work over 40 years has maintained and enhanced the excellent research into medical imaging technologies, especially MRI and PET for which The University of Aberdeen Medical School has a worldwide reputation.

The 2014 subject was Women’s Health and the winner was Professor Hilary Critchley, Professor of Reproductive Medicine at the University of Edinburgh. Professor Critchley's work has made major impacts on women’s health and has reinvigorated academic gynaecology, ensuring a crucial area of Scottish scientific pre-eminence is enhanced.

The Sir Robin MacLellan Travel Award

The Sir Robin MacLellan Annual Travel Award (£3,000) is intended to contribute towards the travel costs to a Conference/Symposium to enable the research worker, in receipt of a Tenovus Scotland grant, who has made an outstanding contribution, based on their Final Report, to present a paper. The research work must be carried out in Scotland.

The 2012 Sir Robin MacLellan Travel Award was awarded to Dr Sarah Coulthurst of the University of Dundee for her research into the 'Use of molecular approaches to investigate how pathogenic bacterium, Serratia marcesens, causes disease.'

The 2013 Sir Robin MacLellan Travel Award was awarded to Dr Shuzo Sakata of the Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, University of Strathclyde for his research into 'Type-specific neural activity in the auditory cortex of a tinnitus model'.

The 2014 Sir Robin MacLellan Travel Award was awarded to Dr Paul Prentice of the University of Dundee for his research into ‘Controlling bubble power for cancer therapy’.

The 2015 Sir Robin MacLellan Travel Award was awarded jointly to Dr Stephen O’Neill of the University of Edinburgh for his research work into ‘Identifying novel drug therapies to reduce organ damage in kidney transplantation’ and to Miss Joanne McPeake at the University of Glasgow) for her research work into ‘The Critical Care Unit and Alcohol Related Admissions’.

The 2016 Award was awarded to Dr Anke J Roelofs (University of Aberdeen) was the winner. Her Final Report on her research work was judged the most outstanding for the year.

The Lady Illingworth Award

The Lady Illingworth Trust Prize Award to be awarded periodically to a person or persons who are thought to have made an outstanding contribution to the understanding of the disabilities which affect the elderly.

In December 1996, the first Award was made to Dr R A Kenny MD FRCP FRCPI (now Professor) for her work carried out in the Department of Medicine (Geriatrics) University of Newcastle. This was followed in 2001 by Professor Marion McMurdo at the University of Dundee and in 2008 by Professor Peter Langhorne at Glasgow Royal Infirmary and Professor John B Young at the Bradford Institute for Health Research.

Professor Andrew Tatham (University of Edinburgh) was the recipient of the 2015 award for his research which is focused on improving the understanding of chronic eye disease and how it affects elderly patients’ quality of life. This is awarded periodically to a person or persons who have made an outstanding contribution to the understanding of the disabilities which affect elderly people within the British Isles.

The McLatchie Cancer Trust Award

As a result of a bequest to TENOVUS SCOTLAND by the late Thomas McLatchie, Farmer, Millerston, by Mauchline, the McLatchie Cancer Trust Award was set up for the purpose of aiding cancer research.

Paediatric oncology was chosen as the area of research for the first award and the successful applicants were Dr Brenda Gibson and Dr Rosina Shujaat of the Department of Haematology, Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Yorkhill, Glasgow and Professor Faisal Ahmed the Department of Child Health, University of Glasgow, Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Yorkhill, Glasgow. The award of £24,000 over a three year period will be used to research if a progamme of regular supervised exercise can improve bone health and body composition in children receiving chemotherapy for the treatment of Acute Lymphoblastic Leukaemia.

Women of Scotland Lunch Award

The Women of Scotland Luncheon 'Women's Health' grant has been awarded to Dr Hilary Critchley of the MRC Centre for Reproductive Health at The University of Edinburgh and her colleagues, Professor Saunders and Dr Williams. The title of her research project is ‘A new era in the treatment of chronic debilitating women's health disorders using selective progesterone receptormodulators (PRMs)’ and the grant applied for and approved was £29,538 over a period of twelve months.

Update: “Women’s Health Award” obtains further funding of £1.5 million

Uterine fibroids are common and cause heavy menstrual bleeding (HMB).
Fibroid growth is driven by sex hormones (oestrogen and progesterone).

Funding from our WOSL award enabled us to acquire invaluable preliminary information to advance our understanding about how a new treatment for fibroids (progesterone receptor modulators, PRMs) reduce HMB in women with fibroids. We performed studies in our clinical research laboratory (Queens Medical Research Institute, University of Edinburgh) using tissue samples from the womb of patients treated with a PRM who had undergone hysterectomy (removal of the womb) for fibroids. It is still not known how PRMs work. Our findings showed that PRM treatment changes tissue amounts of sex hormone receptor (hormone binding site) genes and notably those genes whose presence is determined by progesterone. These studies now need to be continued so we can more fully understand the action of this treatment which has potential for longer term use by women which would allow them to avoid surgery. Our WOSL award supported an undergraduate UoE medical student to perform a laboratory study as part of her intercalated BSc. She received an Undergraduate Achievement Award for her project. Also important preliminary data generated from our funding from WOSL Award contributed support data for subsequent successful peer-reviewed funding of £1.5million from the EME (NIHR & MRC) scheme. We now plan in a 5 centre UK study to see if PRM treatment is more effective at reducing the burden of HMB symptoms than intrauterine progestin delivery (LNG-IUS; the NICE recommended first-line treatment for HMB). Within this new award we have a sub-study where we will explore further how PRMs reduce menstrual bleeding and womb size. This new study extends and complements our WOSL supported study.

Professor Hilary OD Critchley
Professor of Reproductive Medicine, MRC Centre for Reproductive Health, The Queen's Medical Research Institute, University of Edinburgh

©2016 Tenovus Scotland